代谢组学

代谢物组学是在后基因组学时代兴起的一门跨领域学科,是针对特定细胞过程遗留下的特殊化学指纹(小分子)的系统研究。

人体中有40,000多种代谢物。其中尿液中小分子(代谢物)的定量研究为人体健康状况提供了非常有用的信息。

PolypDx™ 研发的重要步骤是成功的发现了尿液中能够区分健康人群和患有腺瘤性息肉人群的特征代谢物。这些特征代谢物是经过由阿尔伯塔大学Edmonton Colon Cancer Screening Program (SCOPE)阿尔伯塔省卫生局联合进行的临床试验研究发现的。在近1000例的临床试验中,以肠镜检查为标准参考,我们比较了PolypDx™和当前普遍使用的大便隐血测试对腺瘤性息肉检测的灵敏度和特异性。

 

产品研发平台

很多科学研究都发现了疾病的特征代谢物,并且预见到以代谢组学为基础的诊断测试的前景。但是大部分的研究结果仍需要多个(60-90)代谢物的综合分析才能很好的作出疾病诊断,这导致以代谢组学为基础的测试往往成本极高。

PolypDx™一大重要研发部分是我们使用了人工智能的方法来找到最关键的疾病特征代谢物, 在缩小了代谢物的数量(3-5)的同时提高了测试的准确度,从而大大降低了测试成本。

在研发PolypDx™的过程中, 我们有着许多临床优势,我们在相对短的时间内招募到大量病人加入临床试验,收集到大量临床样品,并且进行了标准的结肠镜测试和目前普遍使用的大便隐血测试的比较实验。 

我们在代谢物分析和算法研发上也有很多科研合作项目来进一步加强我们的技术。这包括和代谢分析研发中心The Metabolomics Innovation Centre (TMIC) 和the Alberta Machine Intelligence Institute (Amii)的合作。

Search

Metabolomics

Metabolomics is the new "Omics" that focuses on characterizing low molecular weight compounds generated by metabolism.

There are more than 40,000 metabolites known to be in the human body. The small molecules (‘metabolites’) that appear in a person’s urine provide very useful information about a patient's current health. 

PolypDx™ was developed with the successful identification of distinct metabolomic fingerprints in urine samples of patients with adenomatous polyps, the precursor to colorectal cancer. These distinct signatures were discovered using 1,000 samples collected in a clinical trial attached to the Edmonton Colon Cancer Screening Program (SCOPE), in conjunction with Alberta Health Services (formerly, Capital Health). This clinical trial compared the sensitivity and specificity of the urine metabolomics tests (PolypDx™) and fecal-based tests (fecal-guaiac, and fecal-immune) relative to the gold standard - full colonoscopy by expert gastroenterologists. 

 

Our Technology

Many researchers have successfully identified metabolomic-based signatures that may potentially be used as diagnostics, but often these metabolomic-based signatures are comprised of a large number (60-90) of metabolites that makes it cost-prohibitive to incorporate into a large, population-based screening tool.

The innovation of PolypDx™, is that we were able to reduce the metabolomic signature (using a combination of machine learning and statistical analysis), to a small number of metabolites, while maintaining the high accuracy necessary to be useful as an accurate diagnostic screening tool.

 

In the development of PolypDx™, we had a distinct advantage in regards to clinical connections and access, via a clinical trial, to a large clinical sample repository that is well-characterized with both colonoscopies conducted as well as fecal guaiac and fecal immune-based tests. 

We also formed several important collaborations to further enhance our current technology, including metabolomic analysis expertise from the The Metabolomics Innovation Centre (TMIC) and in the development of a diagnostic algorithm with the Alberta Machine Intelligence Institute (Amii).